How to Set Boundaries and Handle Difficult People Using NLP Communication Hacks

Communication Hacks with NLP

Burcu Onaranel Erten
2 min readSep 24, 2024

I believe the best thing I’ve ever learned through NLP and coaching is effective communication. It’s part of our everyday lives, yet so many of us don’t really know how to communicate effectively.

What you say is important, but how you say it is everything.

As a certified professional life coach and motivational coach, soon to be an ICF Associate Certified Coach (ACC) 🙂, I’ve realized that, beyond all the skills I’ve gained over the past decade, the most valuable lesson has been choosing my words wisely and setting boundaries when other people’s language threatens my personality and soul.

Real talk!

What do I do when someone treats me disrespectfully?

When I encounter someone who crosses my boundaries or dares to tell me how to run my business or podcast, I take a deep breath and approach the situation with love. I put myself in their shoes, understanding that we might not be on the same page in that moment.

If I receive an email that triggers my boundaries and disrespects my work or personality, I respond with love, while also addressing what was wrong with their behavior and language. I mirror it back…

--

--

Burcu Onaranel Erten

Mission: To Create JOY! | Owner @Joyy! LLC | International Motivational Speaker | Certified Professional Life Coach | The Coffee o'clock Pod. YouTube @joyyburcu